in partnership withwjla.com
2V7A0707.jpg
Passion Pit at All Things Go in 2016. (Amanda Andrade-Rhoades/DC Refined)
SEE MORE

Your January 2018 concert guide

2017 was weird, right? That wasn't just us? Here are the best shows to kick off the new year with.

Week 1: January 1-8

1. Wale, Phil Ade, GoldLink, Rico Nasty, and Fat Trel
Hip hop
Monday, Jan. 1 - Fillmore Silver Spring

2. Flux Pavilion
EDM/house
Monday, Jan. 1- Echoplex

3. LZRD
EDM
Thursday, Jan. 4 - Soundcheck

4. The Dead Milkmen
Rock that's withstood decades
Friday, Jan. 5 - 9:30 Club

5. Rakim
Hip hop
Saturday, Jan. 6 - Howard Theater

6. The Wombats
Rock
Monday, January 8 - 9:30 Club

Week 2: January 9-16

1. Passion Pit
Indietronic
Tuesday, Jan. 9-10 - 9:30 Club

2. The Killers
Rock (Don't lie, you definitely know the lyrics to Mr. Brightside)
Wednesday, Jan. 10 - The Anthem

3. Ja Rule
Hip hop
Thursday, Jan. 11 - Fillmore Silver Spring

4. Walk the Moon
Rock
Friday, Jan. 12 - The Anthem

5. Fetty Wap
Trap
Saturday, Jan. 13 - Fillmore Silver Spring

6. Dorothy
Rock
Sunday, Jan. 14 - 9:30 Club

7. Collie Buddz
Electronic-infused reggae
Monday, Jan. 15 - 9:30 Club

8. Shakira
Latin pop
Tuesday, Jan. 16 - Capital One Arena

Week 3: January 17-24

1. Darude
House, but Sandstorm is just great. Fight me on it.
Friday, Jan. 19 - Soundcheck

2. Fleetwood Mac
Rock
Friday, Jan. 19 - U Street Music Hall

3. Milky Chance
Alt-rock
Saturday, Jan. 20 - Fillmore Silver Spring

4. Cashmere Cat, MØ, and Darius
Electronica
Monday, Jan. 22 - 9:30 Club

5. Tennis
Indie pop
Wednesday, Jan. 24 - 9:30 Club

Week 4: January 25-31

1. Lana Del Ray
Dream pop
Thursday, Jan. 25 - Capital One Arena

2. Dan Deacon
Experimental EDM
Thursday, Jan. 25 - MilkBoy ArtHouse

3. The Devil Makes Three and The Huntress And Holder Of Hands
Bluegrass
Friday, Jan. 26 - Fillmore Silver Spring

4. Enter Shikari
Metal meets electronica
Sunday, Jan. 28 - 9:30 Club

5. Black Rebel Motorcycle Club
Rock
Monday, Jan. 29 - 9:30 Club

6. Kimbra
Art pop
Tuesday, Jan. 30 - 9:30 Club

7. Mija
EDM
Wednesday, Jan. 31 - Soundcheck



col1_vertical_list_trending