in partnership withwjla.com
logic.jpg
Logic (Image courtesy of MGM National Harbor)

Your August 2017 concert guide

It's gross hot outside, but there's something special about summer concerts. Here are all the acts worth checking out this month.

Week 1: August 2-9

1. Logic and Joey Bada$$
(Rap, but Logic is pretty wonderful even if you wouldn't normally gravitate towards hip hop)
Wednesday, August 2 - MGM National Harbor

2. Blondie and Garbage
(Rock and ska that'll make you a little nostalgic)
Thursday, August 3 - Wolf Trap

3. Roger Waters
(The Pink Floyd experience!)
Friday, August 4-5 - Verizon Center

4. Khalid
(Alternative R&B)
Thursday, August 4-5 - Fillmore Silver Spring

5. White Ford Bronco
(90s covers)
Saturday, August 5 - Gypsy Sally's

6. Coldplay
(Alternative pop rock)
Sunday, August 6 - FedEx Field

7. J. Cole
(Hip hop)
Tuesday, August 8 - Verizon Center

8. The Goo Goo Dolls
(Rock)
Tuesday, August 8 - Wolf Trap

Week 2: August 10-17

1. Dashboard Confessional, The All-American Rejects and The Maine
(Alt-rock that's a throwback to the mid 2000s)
Thursday, August 10 - Wolf Trap

2. Road to Moonrise ft. Bassjackers
(EDM)
Soundcheck

3. Zoogma
(Electronic rock)
Saturday, August 12 - Songbyrd

4. Social Distortion and Jade Jackson
(Rock)
Sunday, August 13 - Fillmore Silver Spring

5. Mary J. Blige and Lalah Hathaway
(R&B)
Tuesday, August 15 - MGM National Harbor

6. In The Valley Below
(Dream pop)
Tuesday, August 15 - DC9

7. Bomba Estéreo
(Columbian hip hop that is so unbelievably enthusiastic and fun that I listen to their music when I need to pump myself up. Even Will Smith did a guest spot on a song because he liked them so much. They're that good!)
Thursday, August 17 - 9:30 Club

Week 3: August 18-25

1. The Districts
(Indie rock)
Friday, August 18 - 9:30 Club

2. Shawn Mendes and Charlie Puth
(Folk pop)
Saturday, August 19 - Verizon Center

3. The Beach Boys
(Classic surfer rock)
Sunday, August 20 - Wolf Trap

4. Waxahatchee
(Indie rock)
Monday, August 21 - 9:30 Club

5. Lil Yachty
(Hip hop/trap)
Wednesday, August 23 - Echostage

6. Nicola Cruz and Quantic
(Trip hop)
Wednesday, August 23 - U Street Music Hall

7. John Mayer and Dawes
(Rock's softer side)
Friday, August 25 - Jiffy Lube Live

Week 4: August 26-31

1. Nicky Jam
(Reggaeton)
Saturday, August 26 - Eagle Bank Arena

2. Michael Bolton, Dave Koz, and Larry Graham
(Soft rock)
Wednesday, August 30 - Wolf Trap

3. SAINT WKND
(Electronic/dance)
Wednesday, August 30 - Flash

4. Cher
(Pop)
Thursday, August 31 - MGM National Harbor


col1_vertical_list_trending