in partnership withwjla.com
DSC_0401_credit_Noemí_Elias.jpg
MOURN (photo by Noemí Elias)

Your September 2017 concert guide

Week 1: September 1-8

1. The Black Madonna and Keenan Orr
(Disco! Yes, really - it's not dead.)
Friday, Sept. 1 - Soundcheck

2. Hardwell
(Electro-house/EDM)
Saturday, Sept. 2 - Echostage

3. Cher
(It's the Goddess of Pop, you should just go.)
Saturday, Sept. 2, 3, 7, 9 and 10

4. Counting Crows and Matchbox 20
(Rock that throws back to the 90s and 00s)
Sunday, Sept. 3 - Jiffy Lube Live

5. Sting
(Rock)
Tuesday, Sept. 5-7 - Wolf Trap

6. Depeche Mode
(Electropop)
Thursday, Sept. 7 - Capital One Arena (formerly known as the Verizon Center)

7. Mourn
(Rock with a raw sound and energy - they rarely come to the U.S., so be sure not to miss this!)
Thursday, Sept. 7 - Sonbyrd

8. Gente de Zona
(Cuban reggaeton - stop listening to Despacito on repeat and go to this show instead.)
Sept. 8 - Echostage

Week 2: September 9-16

1. Juana, Damon Bradley, RODD
(Ambient, experimental techno. This is a show for those who want something outside the norm.)
Saturday, Sept. 9 - Safari DC

2. The Afghan Whigs and Har Mar Superstar
(Rock)
Saturday, Sept. 9 - 9:30 Club

3. Nick Murphy, but you probably know him as Chet Faker
(Textural, electronic pop that touches on other genres.)
Sunday, Sept. 10-11 - 9:30 Club

4. Jon Bellion
(Electropop)
Sunday, Sept. 10 - Echostage

5. Big Boi
(Hip hop)
Monday, Sept. 11 - Fillmore Silver Spring

6. Teen Daze
(Ambient electronica)
Tuesday, Sept. 12 - Songbyrd

7. Paramore and Best Coast
(Rock)
Wednesday, Sept. 13 - MGM National Harbor

8. Mat Zo
(EDM)
Thursday, Sept. 14 - Soundcheck

9. Gucci Mane and The Weeknd
(Hip hop)
Friday, Sept. 15 - Capital One Arena

10. Arcade Fire
(Rock)
Saturday, Sept. 16 - Capital One Arena

11. Sam Hunt
(Country pop)
Saturday, Sept. 16 - Jiffy Lube Live

Week 3: September 17-24

1. Daddy Yankee
(He's called the father of Reggaeton for a reason.)
Sunday, Sept. 17 - Wolf Trap

2. BadBadNotGood
(Instrumental hip hop)
Sunday, Sept. 17 - 9:30 Club

3. Ed Sheeran and James Blunt
(Pop)
Tuesday, Sept. 19-20 - Capital One Arena

4. Broken Social Scene
(Indie Rock)
Tuesday, Sept. 19-20 - 9:30 Club

5. VÉRITÉ
(Alternative/indie pop)
Thursday, Sept. 21 - Rock & Roll Hotel

6. Nora En Pure
(House)
Thursday, Sept. 21 - Soundcheck

7. Space Jesus
(Electronica with heavy beats and some filthy bass - this isn't your usual festival fare.)
Friday, Sept. 22 - 9:30 Club

8. Alison Wonderland and Elohim
(Stadium-friendly electronica)
Saturday, Sept. 23 - Echostage

Week 4: Sept. 25-30

1. Katy Perry
(Pop)
Sunday, Sept. 25 - Capital One Arena

2. Key, Cozy Boys, A$AP Ant, A$AP Nast, A$AP Ferg, A$AP Rocky, A$AP Mob, and A$AP Twelvyy
(Hip hop)
Wednesday, Sept. 27 - Echostage

3. Marilyn Manson and Alice Glass
(Industrial metal)
Wednesday, Sept. 27 - Fillmore Silver Spring

4. Bruno Mars
(Pop)
Friday, Sept. 29-30 - Capital One Arena

5. Thundercat
(Super cool, electronic soul)
Friday, Sept. 29 - 9:30 Club

6. Yotto
(EDM with a sound so big that seeing him in an intimate venue like this is going to be crazy.)
Friday, Sept. 29 - Soundcheck

7. Crystal Castles
(Electropunk)
Saturday, Sept. 30 - 9:30 Club






col1_vertical_list_trending