in partnership
During an industry-only after-party at Arroz, pros were able to celebrate their victories as a community and congratulate their colleagues over booze and small bites. (Amanda Andrade-Rhoades/DC Refined)

Take a peek at the 2017 RAMMY winners and the raucous after party

Last night saw the crowning of D.C.'s proverbial kings and queens of the food world at the 2017 RAMMYS -- a.k.a Restaurant Prom, where the hardworking men and women of the hospitality industry finally get a night out to celebrate the dining scene of Washington, D.C. Presented by the Restaurant Association Metropolitan Washington (RAMW), The RAMMY Awards Gala honors the exceptional ability and accomplishments of the hard-working individuals and organizations of the region's restaurants and food service community. From new talent like the team behind Hazel who took home the "New Restaurant of the Year" award, and Ryan Ratino, who was voted "Rising Culinary Star of the Year" to tried and true veterans like Proof, who celebrated their 10th anniversary earlier this month, the best of the best were properly feted.

The winners of the 35th annual Rammy Awards are:

  • Employee of the Year: Joseph Cassis, PassionFish Bethesda
  • Manager of the Year: John Grace, The Hamilton
  • Rising Culinary Star of the Year: Ryan Ratino, Ripple
  • Regional Food and Beverage Producer of the Year: DC Brau Brewing Company
  • Favorite Gathering Place of the Year: Pearl Dive Oyster Palace
  • Upscale Brunch of the Year: Convivial
  • Casual Brunch of the Year: Republic
  • Favorite Fast Bites of the Year: Cava Grill
  • Upscale Casual Restaurant of the Year: Proof
  • Casual Restaurant of the Year: Compass Rose Bar + Kitchen
  • Beer Program of the Year: Jack Rose Dining Saloon
  • Cocktail Program of the Year: Kapnos by Mike Isabella
  • Wine Program of the Year: Charlie Palmer Steak
  • Joan Hisaoka Allied Member of the Year: Acme Paper & Supply Co., Inc.
  • Pastry Chef of the Year: Jemil Gadea, Masseria
  • Formal Fine Dining Restaurant of the Year: minibar by José Andrés
  • Service Program of the Year: The Source by Wolfgang Puck
  • New Restaurant of the Year: Hazel
  • Restaurateur of the Year: Ike Grigoropoulos, Dimitri Moshovitis, Ted Xenohristos, Brett Schulman, Cava Group, Inc
  • Chef of the Year: Tarver King, The Restaurant at Patowmack Farm